User Roles in Blackboard for Courses and Organizations

When to Use?

Learn the access levels for users in Blackboard courses and organizations.

Information

Course Access Levels

  • Instructor – has full access to the course. Instructors can control tool availability.
  • Teaching Assistant – has access to most of the course. Teaching assistants can't remove an instructor from a course.
  • Course Builder – can access most areas of the course. This role is appropriate for an assistant who should not have access to student grades.
  • Student – is the default user role. Students can submit coursework and participate in discussions.
  • Grader – has limited access to the course. Graders can assist instructors with creating and grading assessments and surveys.
  • Facilitator – can assist instructors in the progress of a course. They have access to all areas. Facilitators are often used as subject matter experts for master course developments.
  • Guest - has read-only access. They are unauthenticated users. Guest access is not available in Ultra course view.

Organization Access Levels

  • Org Leader - has full access to the organization and can add/remove users from both Classic and Ultra org views.
  • Leader – has full access to the organization.
  • Assistant – has full access to the organization, but cannot remove managers or leaders.
  • Organization Builder – can add, edit or delete content. They do not have access to the grade center. They cannot add users.
  • Grader – has limited access to the organization. They can assist a leader in creating and grading online assessments.
  • Participant – has limited access to the organization. They can submit coursework and participate in discussions.
  • Guest – has read-only access. They are unauthenticated users. Their access lasts only 24 hours. Guest access is not available in Ultra course view.
Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 716
Created
Thu 9/23/21 4:23 PM
Modified
Wed 8/31/22 8:30 AM