Adding/Removing Users in an Organization

When to Use?

**To add or remove users from an organization, a Leader user will have to contact Bb Support to have their enrollment updated to OrgLeader. Only OrgLeader users can add or remove users from an organization.

Instructions for:

Procedure

Adding Users in Bb Classic View

1. In your Bb homepage menu, click Organizations.
2. Click into the organization you want to add or remove a user from.

in your blackboard homepage click organizations

3. In your organization menu, look under Organization Management.
4. Under Control Panel, click Users and Groups, then click Users.
5. In the Users page, click Find Users to Enroll.

In the Users page, click Find Users to Enroll

6. Enter the GVSU network account username of the user you want to add.

Enter the GVSU network account username of the user you want to add, select the desired role and click submit

7. Select the appropriate user role. More information on organization user roles is found below.
8. Click Submit.

Removing a user in Classic View:

1. Under Control Panel, click Users and Groups, then click Users.
2. Check the box next to the name of the user you want to remove.

Check the box next to the name of the user you want to remove

3. Click Remove Users from Organization.
4. You will be prompted to confirm by a pop-up dialogue box in the top of the screen. Click Ok.

Removing an OrgLeader/Leader user:

To remove another OrgLeader/Leader user, you must first change the Leader's role to Participant. If you try to remove a Leader or OrgLeader user without changing their user role to Participant first, you will receive the following error, "Cannot remove Leader users from organization. Only System Administrator users can remove Leader users."

Cannot remove Leader users from organization. Only System Administrator users can remove Leader users.

1. In the User list page, click the grey drop down arrow that appears near the OrgLeader or Leader's username. Then click Change User's Role in Organization.

In the user list page, click the grey drop down arrow that appears next to the leader or org leader's username. then click Change user's role in organization.

2. In the Change User's Role in Organization page, click Participant, then click Submit. Repeat this step for every OrgLeader or Leader user you want to remove. You can now remove the user normally.

Adding a User in Bb Ultra View

1. In your Bb homepage menu, click Organizations.
2. Click into the Ultra view organization you want to add or remove a user from.
3. Under Details & Actions, click Roster.

Under Details & Actions, click Roster

4. On the top right corner of the Roster page, click the Add People icon.

On the top right corner of the Roster page, click the Add People icon

5. Enter the GVSU network account username of the user you want to add.

Enter the GVSU network account username of the user you want to add. Click the correct user from the list and use the drop down to select their role in the organization. Click Save

6. Click the correct user from the list and use the drop down to select their role in the organization.
7. Click Save.

Removing a User in Ultra View

1. Under Details & Actions, click Roster.
2. In the roster page, click on the users name or the ellipses icon next to their name.

click on the users name or the ellipses icon next to their name

3. In the Member Information page, click on the trash can icon next to the user's name.

In the Member Information page, click on the trash can icon next to the users name.

4. You will be prompted to confirm by a pop-up dialogue box in the top of the screen. Click Remove Member.

Organization Access Role Descriptions

  • OrgLeader = access to all of the control panel and can change privileges. Can add/remove organization members.

  • Leaders = access to all of the control panel and can change privileges.

  • Assistant = access to almost all parts of the control panel.

  • Grader = access to the grade book and assessment part of the control panel.

  • Organization builder = access to the documents portion of the control panel.

  • Participant = no access to the control panel.  Cannot see an organization that is not available to participants.
Was this helpful?
100% helpful - 1 review

Details

Article ID: 5276
Created
Wed 4/20/22 3:56 PM
Modified
Mon 8/22/22 8:08 AM